Failures & Facebook

I write a lot of blogs about things that I know, lessons that I learn, and ideas and concepts that I’m pondering. The majority of these blog postings have conclusions. My thoughts, and then the conclusion I’ve come to on a specific matter. What I fear that I don’t write enough about is my failures, insecurities, and shortcomings. Not that you want to know what all of those are and just how screwed up that I am and not that I want to expose everything to the whole world. But I do believe it is necessary to exploit some of these as a writer and for you as a reader.

Lately, I’ve noticed a lot of pictures on facebook. Being a “young married couple”, we have a lot of other “young married couple” friends. Naturally, we are friends with all of these lovely folks on facebook and other social networks. Lately, I have gotten irritated with all of these sweet people that I love and enjoy being around. They’re lives are fantastic! They never fight, they smile a lot and do funs things, and they NEVER forget to take pictures of it and share it with the rest of the world.

Now, I’m sure you’ve read or discussed, or heard about this happy-moment-sharing epidemic that our generation gets to face unlike any other generation. I’m sure you have heard the argument that you cannot compare the bloopers and outtakes of your life to the highlight reel of someone else’s. And yet, how can we help but compare when you’ve just had a disagreement with someone and you turn to instagram and see other people who seem happy, thankful, and overall better-than-you all the time?

Well I’m not better than you. My husband and I annoy each other, we have disagreements, and some dates turn into grudge matches. I have my bouts with mood swings, discouragement, fears and worries. Some days, I have to stop and fill my car with gas, which is not my favorite thing to do and I do not advertise it to the world wide web. I dislike grocery shopping, my pantry is not perfectly stocked for the next 6 months and I absolutely refuse to coupon no matter how many pinterest posts tell me I can actually MAKE $10 by doing it.

These are just a few of my tidbits of reality. And while I just told you some of the unpleasant, unadvertised moments of my life, I’m happy to tell you that I have a really great life despite all of that.

My husband and I both admit that we are “bad at facebook”. By this we mean that we rarely post anything to social media. We often forget to take pictures when we are on cool dates or having a really great time with friends. Forgetting the picture means we didn’t post it but it does not mean we forgot the moment.

Today I encourage you to leave your phone at home or shut off your 4G network or wifi while you are enjoying a moment. Relish the moment, build a relationship. I’m not saying to never post anything again, but don’t miss out on anything either, by posting it.

But most of all I want you to know that I’m flawed and have a list of failures and annoyances a mile long. We all do. I have to remind myself that I’m not the only one like this as I scroll through a feed. And if you ever forget that, just come on back here, I’ll be here with all my STUFF and ready to remind you what reality looks like in this awful, beautiful mess.

Leave a Reply

